Banco de Oro Unauthorized Debits: Endgame


Have you checked your bank statement lately? Now that almost everyone’s mind is occupied with the upcoming election, summer getaways, earthquakes, Game of Thrones’ final season, and Avengers: Endgame among others, fraudsters are also having a busy season.

Friends who are clients of BDO, remember to check the posted transactions in your account/s regularly.

I had two unauthorized debits, both charged by GrabTaxi Singapore. When I discovered them on Apr. 8, I immediately visited my branch of account, filed a Transaction Dispute Form, and had my card replaced (switched from Visa to Mastercard). 15 calendar days had passed but no temporary credit had been applied yet so I called BDO on Apr. 23. The service rep said Visa’s investigation was ongoing and that my case was expected to be resolved on or before the 15th banking day (from the dispute date). I expressed my dismay re. the lengthy investigation, adding that I was not in Singapore during those transaction dates, I never registered my account in Grab, and Grab PH’s fares are in whole numbers. I shared that these information should help the investigator resolve the case quickly. Also, I asked about the preventive measures that BDO is implementing to forestall unauthorized Grab debits. She replied that now, one must call BDO before registering his/her card in GrabPay (BDO should have issued an advisory to its clients). Still and all, I admire the professionalism she displayed while handling the call.

Earlier, I checked my account and heaved a sigh of relief upon seeing the credits made by the Recon Unit on Apr. 25. 😊

Note: All (BDO) transactions reported beyond 60 days from the posting date will NO LONGER BE ACCOMMODATED and will be considered true, accurate and binding upon you (cardholder).

Let’s all monitor our banking transactions and protect the financial system from fraudsters!

Did you have a similar experience? Share your thoughts below! 🙂

Share Your Thoughts 😇