(T)hat (E)lectronic-mail (A)ctuated (R)eal (S)eventh heaven


We cry for lots of reasons: sadness, pain, fear . . . and happiness. When was the last time you shed tears of joy?

I frequently feel happy. But I feel that such happiness is short-term when classified according to the dimension of time. I have not yet followed the scientific process to discover the procedure of experiencing real happiness. It may be a lifelong pursuit, as others firmly stand by. Others would, however, say that happiness is real when you finally shed tears of joy.

On Thursday, May 29, 2014 3:34 PM, I received an e-mail from Jack Ong, the Advancement Executive of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants- Southeast Asia.

The first two sentences wrote,

Dear Usls-01 team,
Congratulations – you’ve been shortlisted as the 2014 GBC Philippines finalist!
The local final will be on 20 June and further details to be announced later.

That e-mail actuated real seventh heaven (TEARS). I haven’t really felt such ecstatic. Believe it or not, I got goosebumps all over my body. I even felt them in my head, as if some of my hair strands lifted. The ridge in my throat almost disappeared as my voice seemingly feigned a female pitch when I shouted praises to the Lord. As I swept the curtains aside, my Mom shifted her sight to me; she asked me why my smile was overly projected. I told her, “Mom, we made it to the Finals of the Global Business Challenge.” Of course, we weren’t speaking in English. Rather, we were communicating in Hiligaynon, a Filipino dialect and my mother tongue.

Related posts:

https://stvensonsays.wordpress.com/2014/07/04/cima-gbc-2014-the-experience-stage-1/

https://stvensonsays.wordpress.com/2014/07/04/chartered-institute-of-management-accountants-global-business-challenge-philippine-finals-2014/

Tears of joy flowed flawlessly from my delightful eyes. I was really happy. Everytime I recall that moment, those scenes flash through my mind in comely transitions, markedly affecting my sensibilities. Ambivalent emotions, as they are called, yet I know which one outweighs the other.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Happy Happy Joy Joy.”

3 thoughts on “(T)hat (E)lectronic-mail (A)ctuated (R)eal (S)eventh heaven

    1. stvensontupas says:

      I’ve been blogging since 2011 but I have a few entries since I have tons of academic requirements to comply with.

      I use the Plane theme just recently. I also like its simplicity: just easy to the eyes and not striking. Thank you for appreciating the content of my articles, Gisele. Magnificent is such a big word. 😀

      Like

Share Your Thoughts 😇

